Flashbacks

Every once in awhile I feel the need to flashback into old habits. Into cruising down the highway, blasting some indie ’90s epic rock, singing at full throttle, feeling the thick, warm estival breeze along the back of my neck. I carousel between different CDs (I think I might be the only twenty something in the twenty-first century who still listens to compact discs instead of virtual versions of their favorite artist). I feel a rush of memory of being sixteen, “careening through the universe, [my] axis on a tilt, [I’m] guiltless and free…”

I love listening to new pieces on the internet, to international sounds on KEXP, to exploring new music. A favorite past time is slinking into a record store, browsing their selection, then picking an album from a band I’ve never heard or heard of before. I love expanding my ears…


But sometimes I need to revert back to something familiar. Like mac n cheese. ’90s indie rock is comfort food for my ears.

What’s your comfort music?

About KShaw

English teacher in Thailand. Global Traveler. Amateur linguist. Reader. Writer. Photographer. Musician. Friend.
This entry was posted in Musings on Life / Current Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flashbacks

  1. Bruce says:

    I don’t claim this is good, but it defines the ’90s for me. Along with Green Day… hmm.

Leave a Reply

